Union leave Charlie Davies, Maurice Edu unprotected in MLS Expansion Draft

In preparation for the MLS expansion draft on Tuesday, the Union have released their protected roster and it doesn’t include Charlie Davies, Ray Gaddis, Maurice Edu, Ken Tribbett, John McCarthy, Brian Carroll and Leo Fernandes. All are eligible to be selected by either Minnesota United FC or Atlanta United FC. 

Cole Missimo, Tranquillo Barnetta, Anderson, Matt Jones, Walter Restrepo and Taylor Washington are also left unprotected, but will be released by the Union for 2017.

Leaving Davies, 30, unprotected was the club’s lone surprise. The veteran and well-liked forward was acquired by the Union late last season for their natural first-round pick in the 2018 MLS SuperDraft, General Allocation Money and Targeted Allocation Money.

Eligible for a new contract for 2017 and beyond, Davies played a total of 81 minutes over 12 games.

Although Edu’s name may also raise some eyebrows, the pricey 30-year-old hasn’t played an MLS game since Sept. 20, 2015, and is currently rehabbing a broken leg that could keep him on the sideline for the start of the 2017 season. That combination isn’t expected to entice either expansion club.

Without a Generation Adidas contract, which automatically protects a player, the Union were forced to use a protection slot on Andre Blake and Keegan Rosenberry. Also on the protection list is Chris Pontius, Fabinho, Roland Alberg, Ilsinho, C.J. Sapong, Alejandro Bedoya, Richie Marquez, Eric Ayuk and Warren Creavalle.

Josh Yaro and Fabian Herbers, both Generational Adidas, are exempt, joined by homegrown players Auston Trusty and Derrick Jones.