C'MON MAN

McCutchen has beef with MLB scorer's hit, error rulings

C'MON MAN

After Thursday's walk-off win over the Nationals, Phillies outfielder Andrew McCutchen was batting .267.

By Friday afternoon, before the Phillies began their four-game series with the Mets, McCutchen was batting .258... without taking any at-bats in between.

How? The Major League Baseball official scorers burned the veteran, big-time. 

McCutchen took to Twitter on Friday afternoon to (sarcastically, but also semi-seriously) voice his frustrations with the league's official scorers, who on Friday changed a previous hit to an error in the official scorebook.

And it was a double-whammy of bad news for McCutchen, who had appealed to MLB to change an error into a hit... but was denied.

Unsurprisingly, he wasn't happy:

Luckily, Cutch came equipped with hard evidence so we can make our own assessments, at least for the play he appealed. The error, which McCutchen believes was a hit, came in the top of the first against the Nationals on Aug. 25, the first meeting between the two clubs this year. McCutchen poked the ball towards the second baseman, Luis Garcia, who didn't field it cleanly, and Cutch wound up on base:

Sorry, Cutch, but I think this one staying an error makes sense. Not saying Garcia definitely gets you at first base if he fields it cleanly, but it's not a tough play. I understand the beef, but it's probably an error.

McCutchen also noted which play was turned from a hit into an error: the hilarious Victor Robles-Adam Eaton collision in the outfield during the Phillies' 3-2 win over the Nationals the following day.

 

If you need a reminder:

That "hit", which McCutchen now admits was an error, moved Roman Quinn over to second base before a Bryce Harper single drove in the winning run.

McCutchen has nearly 1,700 hits in his MLB career, but it's funny to see he still pays attention to each and every one.