We're used to seeing the No. 3 around town.

Get ready to see it a whole lot more.

Bryce Harper will wear No. 3 as a Philadelphia Phillie, NBC Sports Philadelphia confirmed Friday night.

The Philadelphia Inquirer's Matt Breen first reported the news.

Much respect to Harper for not choosing No. 34, which was worn by Roy Halladay. Harper wore No. 34 during his first seven big-league seasons with the Nationals.

He now has an awesome new number. Allen Iverson will certainly approve.

We should also expect to see some "Babe Harper" signs around Citizens Bank Park. Babe Ruth, of course, wore No. 3, because he typically batted third in the lineup. There's also a chance Harper hits third in the Phillies' batting order, which is pretty neat.

The last Phillie to rock No. 3 was David Lough — yes, David Lough in 2016.

Soon, the No. 3 Harper jersey will be permeating the Delaware Valley.

To understand the franchise history of the number, here's a list of Phillies to ever sport No. 3, courtesy of

David Lough (2016)
Jeff Francoeur (2015)
Marlon Byrd (2014)
Roger Bernadina (2013)
Delmon Young (2013)
Hunter Pence (2011-2012)
Ross Gload (2010)
Lou Marson (2008-2009)
Abraham Nunez (2006-2007)
Todd Pratt (1994-2005)
Kevin Elster (1995)
Billy Hatcher (1994)
Dale Murphy (1990-1992)
Ron Stone (1969)
Bobby Del Greco (1960)
Don Landrum (1957)
Bobby Morgan (1957)
Peanuts Lowrey (1955)
Tommy Glaviano (1953)
Putsy Caballero (1950-1952)
Bill Glynn (1949)
Eddie Miller (1949)
Bert Haas (1948-1949)
Charlie Gilbert (1947)
Eli Hodkey (1946)
Jimmy Wasdell (1944-1946)
Roger McKee (1944)
Andy Karl (1944)
Babe Dahlgren (1943)
Chuck Klein (1932-1942)
Mickey Livingston (1941)
Syl Johnson (1939-1940)
Morrie Arnovich (1938)


Click here to download the MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Flyers, Sixers and Phillies games easily on your device.

More on the Phillies