MLB on Wednesday released the full 2019 schedule, and for the first time since 2015, the Phillies will open their season at home when they host the Braves on March 28 at 3:05 p.m.

Atlanta will be at Citizens Bank Park for a three-game set. The Phillies will have three off days in the first eight days of the season in case of any weather postponements. 

Unlike this season when the Phillies and Braves squared off 12 times in the first 47 games, the teams will play each other in just three of the first 68 games in 2019. 

As far interleague matchups go, the Phils will take on the Minnesota Twins (three games at home), Detroit Tigers (two here, two in Detroit), Kansas City Royals (three on the road), Chicago White Sox (three here), and Cleveland Indians (three games in Cleveland). They’ll also play their usual home-and-home two-game set against the Boston Red Sox.

The trip to Kansas City will be the team’s first since 2007 and just their second visit there since interleague play began 22 years ago. It's also the only AL stadium in which the Phillies have played just one series. 

One particular stretch could get hairy in September if the teams involved produce similarly to 2018. The Phillies will play four games at home against the Braves and two against the Red Sox before hitting the road for three in Atlanta and Cleveland and four in Washington.

They’ll close the season with a three-game set at home vs. the Marlins.


More on the Phillies