Phillies finalize list of playoff-eligible players


The Phillies finalized their postseason player pool by Sunday's deadline. It consists of 40 players.

Active rosters for the postseason remain at 28. The Phils can only use players in their pool to construct that 28-man roster.

Of course, first the Phillies have to make the postseason. Starting Monday, they have seven regular-season games remaining to get there.

The entire 40-man group will enter a bubble and begin traveling together on Wednesday. Players not on the active roster will work out in the afternoon at whatever stadium the Phillies are visiting.

Here is the 40-man pool:

Pitchers (21)

Right-handers: Jake Arrieta, Connor Brogdon, Zach Eflin, David Hale, Heath Hembree, Spencer Howard, Tommy Hunter, Adonis Medina, Héctor Neris, Aaron Nola, Blake Parker, David Phelps, Ramón Rosso, Vince Velasquez, Zack Wheeler and Brandon Workman.

Left-handers: José Álvarez, Garrett Cleavinger, Adam Morgan, JoJo Romero and Ranger Suárez.

Catchers (4)

Andrew Knapp, Jonathan Lucroy, Rafael Marchan and J.T. Realmuto.

Infielders (8)

Alec Bohm, Phil Gosselin, Didi Gregorius, Rhys Hoskins, Scott Kingery, Nick Maton, Jean Segura and Ronald Torreyes.

Outfielders (7)

Jay Bruce, Bryce Harper, Adam Haseley, Mikie Mahtook, Andrew McCutchen, Mickey Moniak and Roman Quinn.