Skip navigation
Favorites
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NBC SPORTS GROUP KICKS OFF NEW MLS PARTNERSHIP WITH LIVE COVERAGE OF 41 REGULAR-SEASON GAMES IN 2012

NEW YORK – January 5, 2012 –The NBC Sports Group today announced its plans for the 2012 MLS season, the first under the new three-year media rights partnership, by offering live coverage of 41 regular season matches, the most of any MLS broadcast partner, in addition to five MLS Cup playoff games.

NBC begins its live MLS coverage on Sunday, March 11 when FC Dallas host the New York Red Bulls on the new NBC Sports Network, which will air a total of 38 regular-season games this year. The defending MLS Cup champion LA Galaxy make seven appearances on NBC Sports Network, including a rematch of MLS Cup against the Houston Dynamo on May 26. The LA Galaxy’s first appearance is March 31 as they host the New England Revolution. MLS Cup runners-up Houston Dynamo also appear seven times including the unveiling of their new stadium, BBVA Compass Stadium, on May 12 as they host D.C. United.

NBC will broadcast three regular-season games: Portland Timbers vs. Seattle Sounders FC on Sept. 15, New York vs. Chicago Fire on Oct. 6, and Philadelphia Union vs. New York Red Bulls on Oct. 27 – the first game of a tripleheader on the last Saturday of the regular season that includes Chicago Fire vs. D.C. United and Portland Timbers vs. San Jose Earthquakes on NBC Sports Network. The three matches this season on NBC are the most regular-season MLS games on an English-language broadcast network since 2002.

Highlights of 2012 NBC Sports Group MLS Schedule:

  • NBC Sports Group broadcasts 41 games, most of any MLS broadcast partner in 2012;
  • Three games on NBC are the most regular-season MLS games on an English-language broadcast network since 2002;
  • Rematch of MLS Cup on May 26 – Houston Dynamo vs. LA Galaxy on NBC Sports Network;
  • Seven games featuring MLS Cup champions LA Galaxy;
  • Opening of BBVA Compass Stadium, the new home of the Houston Dynamo, on May 12 on NBC Sports Network.

NBC SPORTS GROUP 2012 MLS SCHEDULE:

Date Away Home Times ET Network

Sun. Mar. 11 New York Dallas 3:00 PM NBCSN

Sun. Mar. 18 Colorado Philadelphia 4:00 PM NBCSN

Fri. Mar. 23 Houston Seattle 10:00 PM NBCSN

Fri. Mar. 30 Dallas D.C. United 7:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Mar. 31 New England LA Galaxy 11:00 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 14 Columbus Philadelphia 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 21 Chicago Toronto 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Apr. 28 New England New York 3:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. May 5 Philadelphia Seattle 4:00 PM NBCSN

Sat. May 12 D.C. United Houston 4:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. May 26 LA Galaxy Houston 2:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. May 27 San Jose Sporting KC 4:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. June 17 New York Chicago 5:00 PM NBCSN

Sun. June 24 D.C. United New York 7:00 PM NBCSN

Fri. June 29 Chicago Sporting KC 8:00 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 7 Colorado Seattle 11:00 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 14 LA Galaxy Portland 11:00 PM NBCSN

Wed. July 18 Real Salt Lake Seattle 11:00 PM NBCSN

Sat. July 28 LA Galaxy Dallas 8:00 PM NBCSN

Sun. July 29 New England Philadelphia 7:00 PM NBCSN

Fri. Aug. 3 New York Houston 8:00 PM NBCSN

Sun. Aug. 5 Dallas Portland 7:00 PM NBCSN

Fri. Aug. 10 Houston New York 8:00 PM NBCSN

Wed. Aug. 15 LA Galaxy Columbus 7:00 PM NBCSN

Sun. Aug. 19 Philadelphia D.C. United 5:00 PM NBCSN

Fri. Aug. 24 Real Salt Lake Philadelphia 7:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. Aug. 26 Dallas LA Galaxy 7:00 PM NBCSN

Fri. Aug. 31 Colorado Portland 10:30 PM NBCSN

Sun. Sept. 2 Chivas USA San Jose 9:00 PM NBCSN

Wed. Sept. 5 Portland Colorado 9:00 PM NBCSN

Fri. Sept. 14 Houston Sporting KC 8:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Sept. 15 Seattle Portland 3:30 PM NBC

Sat. Sept. 22 Portland Real Salt Lake 8:00 PM NBCSN

Fri. Sept. 28 Chicago Sporting KC 8:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Sept. 29 Seattle Vancouver 9:00 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 6 Chicago New York 3:30 PM NBC

Sat. Oct. 6 Real Salt Lake LA Galaxy 9:00 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 20 Philadelphia Houston 7:30 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 27 New York Philadelphia 1:30 PM NBC

Sat. Oct. 27 D.C. United Chicago 4:00 PM NBCSN

Sat. Oct. 27 San Jose Portland 6:30 PM NBCSN

All games on NBC and NBC Sports Network will consist of pre-game and post-game coverage. The NBC Sports Group will expand upon the successful NBC SportsTalk platform with a Pro SoccerTalk blog that will start with MLS season.

Along with already-established MLS partnerships with five Comcast SportsNets (California, Chicago, Mid-Atlantic, New England and Philadelphia), this new media rights partnership provides the league with coverage across the NBC Sports Group’s unique four-tier portfolio of assets: broadcast network, national cable, regional sports networks and digital.