Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

8 countries stay in FIFA race to host 2023 Women’s World Cup

69th FIFA Congress

PARIS, FRANCE - JUNE 05: Gianni Infantino is elected FIFA President for the 2019-2023 term of office during the 69th FIFA Congress at the Paris Expo Porte de Versailles on June 5, 2019 in Paris, France. (Photo by Daniela Porcelli/Getty Images)

Getty Images

ZURICH (AP) -- Eight countries have stayed in the bidding contest to host the 2023 Women’s World Cup, with Belgium and Bolivia dropping out.

FIFA says it has sent “the updated bidding and hosting documents” to the eight member federations. They must file detailed bid plans for the first 32-team tournament by Dec. 13.

The eight are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, Japan, New Zealand, South Africa and South Korea.

The Korean bid could yet be a joint project with North Korea.

FIFA says all candidates will be inspected in January and February ahead of a FIFA Council vote expected in May.