Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Ahead of EURO 2016 finals draw; all the info, power rankings, seeds

France Soccer EURO 2016

EURO 2016 trophy & Eiffel Tower


The draw for the 2016 European Championship finals tournament takes place in Paris, France on Saturday at 12 p.m. ET and ahead of that, here’s everything you need to know.

[ MORE: Latest EURO 2016 news ]

France is the host nation and the expanded tournament -- 24 teams will feature for the first time in European Championships history -- will kick off on June 10 and run until July 10.

It is being held in 10 stadiums across France, the Parc des Princes and Stade de France in Paris, plus venues in Marseille, Lyon, Lens, Lille, Bordeaux, Nice, St Etienne and Tolouse.

[ MORE: Platini to miss draw in Paris ]

First up, let’s take a look at the seedings for the draw as the 24 teams will be split up into four pots of six teams, with the eight top seeds in Pot One and the lowest ranked teams in Pot Four.

Pot One: Spain, Germany, England, Portugal, Belgium, France (hosts) Pot Two: Italy, Russia, Switzerland, Austria, Croatia, Ukraine Pot Three: Czech Republic, Sweden, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Hungary Pot Four: Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Iceland, Wales, Albania, Northern Ireland

Here is exactly how the draw will work, step-by-step, and how the groups will be assigned and what teams need to do to qualify for the knockout rounds:

  • 23 qualifiers divided into four pots
  • Teams drawn into six groups of four
  • Hosts France automatically assigned as team A1
  • Pot One team drawn into position one in remaining groups
  • Pot Four teams drawn - first team to group A through to Group F
  • Same for Pot Three, then Pot Two
  • Top two teams plus the four best third-placed teams advance to last 16

Below is my Power Ranking of the 24 nations who have qualified, with their current FIFA World Rankings shown in parenthesis.

  1. Germany (4)
  2. Spain (3)
  3. France (25)
  4. Belgium (1)
  5. Italy (15)
  6. England (9)
  7. Portugal (7)
  8. Austria (10)
  9. Switzerland (12)
  10. Russia (24)
  11. Ukraine (29)
  12. Poland (34)
  13. Sweden (35)
  14. Croatia (18)
  15. Turkey (21)
  16. Czech Republic (26-)
  17. Wales (17)
  18. Republic of Ireland (31)
  19. Northern Ireland (30)
  20. Iceland (36)
  21. Slovakia (26-)
  22. Romania (16)
  23. Hungary (20)
  24. Albania (38)

The ProSoccerTalk crew will have full coverage of the draw in Paris on Saturday, with reaction and analysis to come.

Follow @JPW_NBCSports