Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Bocanegra joins National Soccer Hall of Fame; Cherundolo, Solo snubbed

National Soccer Hall of Fame

RUSTENBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - JUNE 12: Carlos Bocanegra of the United States (C) celebrates with Steve Cherundolo (L) and Landon Donovan (R) at the final whistle during the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa Group C match between England and USA at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium on June 12, 2010 in Rustenburg, South Africa. (Photo by Phil Cole/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The National Soccer Hall of Fame continued to infuriate with its baffling voting results will induct one human this summer.

That player is a no-doubter in Carlos Bocanegra, who deserves plenty of praise for his incredible USMNT tenure and a solid club career with Fulham, Rennes, Saint-Etienne, and Rangers in addition to multiple stops in MLS.

[ MORE: Latest PL transfer rumors ]

But instead we’re (again) left wondering who voted against other no-brainers like Steve Cherundolo and Hope Solo, a year after the Hall somehow saw fit to put in Sunil Gulati last season over Cherundolo. That’s not meant as a knock on the career of Gulati but measuring him as clearly above Cherundolo is... a challenge.

Solo has 202 caps for the USWNT and only nine players have more than the three-time Olympic gold medalist and two-time World Cup Golden Glove winner. Perhaps the controversial nature of her off-field and anti-establishment life has hurt her in the eyes of voters, and Abby Wambach wasn’t even close to unanimous last season.

Cherundolo played from 1999-2014 for Bundesliga mainstays Hannover 96 and was even captain of the German club. He’s won 87 USMNT caps and been hired on the staffs at Stuttgart, Hannover, and the USMNT before joining the Germany youth set-up.

Tell me what Hall of Fame voter should be shutting down either!

There are now 40 members in the National Soccer Hall of Fame including five executives. Five are former or current U.S. Soccer presidents and MLS commissioners, which is good news for... current and future U.S. Soccer presidents and MLS commissioners (This omits a sixth in Cindy Parlow Cone, who was elected as a player far before she was elected USSF prez).

Each has a great story to tell, sure, but a number of those stories would collect less ears than Cherundolo’s and Solo’s (Jaime Moreno’s and Lauren Holiday’s, maybe too).

If you want people to respect your process and selections, have a respect-worthy process.