Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Champions League draw - Celtic against Cliftonville and Steaua verse FK Vardar


The first and second qualifying round draws for this year’s UEFA Champions League were conducted in Nyon on Monday, with former European Cup winners Glasgow Celtic and Steaua Bucurest among the clubs to discover their opponents.

Celtic, who defeated Barcelona before being knocked out by Juventus in last season’s Champions League round of 16, have been handed a British derby to kick off the 2013-14 tournament as they face Northern Ireland’s Cliftonville FC, who won last year’s Irish League. Steaua, meanwhile, will face Macedonian First League champions FK Vardar in the second round.

Two other teams from last season’s group stage, BATE Borisov and Dinamo Zagreb, were handed ties against Kazakhstan’s Shakhter Karagandy and Luxembourg’s CS Fola Esch, respectively.

The two legs of the first round will be played on July 2nd-3rd and July 9th-10th while the two legs for the second round games are set for July 16th-17th and July 23rd-24th. The 16 aggregate winners will then enter the third qualifying round before a play-off will decide which teams make the group stage.

Lyon, Zenit St Petersburg and PSV Eindhoven all enter the fold in the third qualifying round. Below is the complete draw:

First qualifying round draw (July 2/3 and 9/10)
FC Shirak (Armenia) v. SP Tre Penne (San Marino)
FC Lusitans (Andorra) v. EB/Streymur (Faroe Islands)

Second qualifying round draw (July 16/17 and 23/24)
Neftçi PFK (Azerbaijan) v. KS Skënderbeu (Albania)
FC Steaua Bucureşti (Romania) v. FK Vardar (Macedonia)
FC Viktoria Plzeň (Czech Republic) v. FK Željezničar (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
FC Sheriff (Moldova) v. FK Sutjeska (Montenegro)
Birkirkara FC (Malta) v. NK Maribor (Slovenia)
Sligo Rovers FC (Ireland) v. Molde FK (Norway)
IF Elfsborg (Sweden) v. FC Daugava Daugavpils (Latvia)
HJK Helsinki (Finland) v. JK Nõmme Kalju (Estonia)
FK Ekranas (Lithuania) v. FH Hafnarfjördur (Iceland)
The New Saints FC (Wales) v. Legia Warszawa (Poland)
Celtic FC (Scotland) v. Cliftonville FC (Northern Ireland)
GNK Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia) v. CS Fola Esch (Luxembourg)
Győri ETO FC (Hungary) v. Maccabi Tel-Aviv FC (Israel)
FC BATE Borisov (Belarus) v. FC Shakhter Karagandy (Kazakhstan)
FC Shirak (Armenia)/SP Tre Penne (San Marino) v. FK Partizan (Serbia)
ŠK Slovan Bratislava (Slokia) v. PFC Ludogorets Razgrad (Bulgaria)
FC Dinamo Tbilisi (Georgia) v. FC Lusitans (Andorra)/EB/Streymur (Faroe Islands)