Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Dele Alli, Danny Ings named in latest England squad

Adelaide United v Liverpool FC

Adelaide United v Liverpool FC

Liverpool FC via Getty Images

With England already qualified for the 2016 European Championships in France next summer, manager Roy Hodgson has freshened things up a little as he named his latest squad.

The Three Lions face Estonia at Wembley on Oct. 9 and then conclude qualifying with a trip to Lithuania on Oct. 12.

[ MORE: Get to know your U.S. U-23’s ]

So far England have won all eight of their qualifiers, the only European nation to do so, as Hodgson’s men aim to make up for their early World Cup exit last summer.

Uncapped duo Danny Ings and Dele Alli headline the call-ups for these games, with Alli just 19-years-old. The former MK Dons star joined Premier League outfit Tottenham Hotspur for $7.5 million in the summer and has already become a regular in Mauricio Pochettino’s starting lineup. The talented attacking midfielder has made just two appearances for the England U-21 side, which came in September, and has been fast-tracked into the full national team after his impressive displays for Spurs so far this season.

Ings, 23, has been called into the England setup for the first time too, as the Liverpool striker partenered Harry Kane up front at the U-21 European Championships in the summer. Ings arrived at Anfield from Burnley on a free transfer over the summer (a transfer fee has yet to be agreed after a tribunal hearing between the two clubs following Ings’ deal at Burnley expiring) and has already become a regular for Brendan Rodgers’ side, scoring twice in his last three games for the Reds.

The likes of Phil Jones, Ryan Bertrand and Adam Lallana all return to the squad after missing out on the last set of qualifiers through injury, while Daniel Sturridge has been left out despite returning for Liverpool over the past two weeks and scoring twice against Aston Villa last weekend.

Below is England’s 23-man squad in full, with only Burnley goalkeeper Tom Heaton not plying his trade in the Premier League.

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Jack Butland (Stoke City), Tom Heaton (Burnley)

Defenders: Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Phil Jones (Manchester United), John Stones (Everton), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Kieran Gibbs (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Ross Barkley (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), James Milner (Liverpool), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Jonjo Shelvey (Swansea City), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

Strikers: Danny Ings (Liverpool), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Theo Walcott (Arsenal)

Follow @JPW_NBCSports