Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Groups and locations announced for Gold Cup 2015: USMNT gets very tough draw

United States v Costa Rica - 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup

HARTFORD, CT - JULY 16: Brek Shea #23 of the United States celebrates his goal with teammates after scoring late in the second half against Costa Rica during the CONCACAF Gold Cup match at Rentschler Field on July 16, 2013 in East Hartford, Connecticut. (Photo by Jared Wickerham/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The United States men’s national team now knows where they’ll be and who they’ll need to top in order to make a sixth-straight Gold Cup final, and it won’t be an easy job for Jurgen Klinsmann’s men.

Group A: U.S., Panama, Haiti -and- Honduras or French Guyana

Group B: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Jamaica, Canada

Group C: Mexico, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago, Cuba

The U.S. will play in Frisco, Texas vs. Panama, Foxboro, Mass. vs. Haiti, and in KC at Sporting Park vs. Honduras/French Guyana. That last match will likely be Honduras, as the States have a tricky trio of match-ups in group play.

[ MORE: UEFA Champions League roundup ]

The third place game will be played at PPL Park in Chester, Penn., home of the MLS’ Union, and the championship match will be at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, home of the NFL’s Eagles.

Brek Shea’s 69th minute lifted the States past Panama in the last edition of the tournament, held in 2013. Prior to that tourney, the Yanks fell to Mexico in consecutive Gold Cup finals by scores of 5-0 and 4-2.

The winner of the 2015 Gold Cup has a chance to go to the 2017 Confederations Cup. If the U.S. wins, it goes. If another nation wins, it will contest a playoff with the U.S. to see who heads to Russia. Two Gold Cup teams will qualify for next summer’s Copa America Centenario as well.

Follow @NicholasMendola