Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Groups for 2019 Women’s World Cup confirmed

US Soccer-Women-Lawsuit

FILE - In this Sunday, July 5, 2015 file photo, the United States Women’s National Team celebrates with the trophy after they beat Japan 5-2 in the FIFA Women’s World Cup soccer championship in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The U.S. Soccer Federation’s original lawsuit against the union for its champion women’s national team has been sealed after the governing body realized it had disclosed the home addresses and email accounts of many players, Thursday, Feb. 4, 2016.(AP Photo/Elaine Thompson, File)


The group stage for the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France have been confirmed, with the U.S. women’s national team placed in a favorable group.

Thailand, Chile and Sweden are the opponents for Jill Ellis’ USWNT in Group F. The U.S. will open up against Thailand in Reims on June 11, then play Chile in Paris on June 16 before facing Sweden on June 20 in Le Havre.

The U.S. are the defending World Cup champs after their success at the 2015 tournament in Canada.

Hosts France have been drawn alongside South Korea, Norway and Nigeria in Group A, with the opening game of the tournament against Korea in Paris on June 7.

England will face old foes Scotland (competing in their first-ever World Cup), Argentina and Japan in Group D, while Canada face Cameroon, New Zealand and the Netherlands in Group E. Marta and Brazil face Australia, Italy and Jamaica in Group C, while German clash with Spain, China and South Africa in Group B.

Below is the full group stage draw from Paris, with the tournament taking place this summer from June 7 until July 7.

Follow @JPW_NBCSports