Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

International Champions Cup’s North American participants include Barcelona, Manchester United, three MLS sides

Jaime Penedo, Wayne Rooney

Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney, top, scores past Los Angeles Galaxy goalkeeper Jaime Penedo during the first half of a friendly soccer match at Rose Bowl on Wednesday, July 23, 2014, in Pasadena, Calif. (AP Photo)


The International Champions Cup will expand to China and Australia this summer, but North America will still see a wealth of the world’s best clubs in the competition.

A trio of Major League Soccer clubs join Manchester United, Barcelona and PSG in a 10-team North American field announced Wednesday by Relevent Sports and RSE Ventures.

[ MORE: Klopp leaving Borussia Dortmund ]

Three of the clubs remain active in this season’s UEFA Champions League, while another is in the CONCACAF Champions League final.

Without further ado:

- Club America
- Chelsea
- Barcelona
- Manchester United
- Paris Saint-Germain
- ACF Fiorentina
- FC Porto
- Los Angeles Galaxy
- New York Red Bulls
- San Jose Earthquakes

With Louis van Gaal desiring a West Coast-only trip to the States, could that mean both L.A. and San Jose will get visits from United? Home matches are coming for the MLS clubs. From ICC:

Each participating MLS club will host at least one matchup. Additional information on specific matchups, venues and dates will be announced on April 28. Further details about the 2015 International Champions Cup North America including presale information can be found at

Roma, Manchester City and Real Madrid will play in the Australian competition.

Follow @NicholasMendola