Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Klinsmann makes roster changes ahead of Costa Rica friendly

Mexico v United States

SAN ANTONIO, TX - APRIL 15: Head coach Jurgen Klinsmann of the United States watches as his team defeats Mexico during an international friendly match at the Alamodome on April 15, 2015 in San Antonio, Texas. (Photo by Chris Covatta/Getty Images)

Getty Images

After falling in extra-time to Mexico in the CONCACAF Cup, Jurgen Klinsmann has made a few roster changes for the upcoming friendly against Costa Rica.

The USMNT takes on Costa Rica on Tuesday at Red Bull Arena, as the team must now look forward to World Cup qualification, which starts in November.

[ FOLLOW: All of PST’s USMNT coverage ]

Klinsmann has brought in goalkeeper Bill Hamid, midfielders Brek Shea, Mix Diskerud, and Lee Nguyen, and forward Andrew Wooten for the Costa Rica match. All of those players play in MLS besides Wooten, who plays for Sandhausen in the 2.Bundesliga.

As those five players have been added, Klinsmann also sent home eight players who were on the roster against Mexico. Nick Rimando, DaMarcus Beasley, Matt Besler, Kyle Beckerman, Michael Bradley, Graham Zusi, Clint Dempsey and Chris Wondolowski have all returned to their MLS sides. Below is the complete roster for Tuesday’s match.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/ENG), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Everton/ENG)

DEFENDERS (7): Ventura Alvarado (Club America/MEX), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/ENG), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchenglandbach/GER), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana/MEX), Tim Ream (Fulham FC/ENG), Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City FC/ENG)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/FRA), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), Danny Williams (Reading FC/ENG), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland AFC/ENG)

FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Bobby Wood (Union Berlin/GER), Andrew Wooten (FC Sandhausen/GER), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)