Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Man United name 21-man squad for trip to Fenerbache

Manchester United v Manchester City - Premier League

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND - SEPTEMBER 10: Henrikh Mkhitaryan of Manchester United (R) takes the ball past Aleksander Kolorov of Manchester City (L) during the Premier League match between Manchester United and Manchester City at Old Trafford on September 10, 2016 in Manchester, England. (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Manchester United has included Henrikh Mkhitaryan in their 21-man squad for their Europa League Group A game at Fenerbache on Thursday.

[ VIDEO: Nasty Neymar push ]

Jose Mourinho has taken a strong squad to Istanbul with Wayne Rooney, Paul Pogba, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and David de Gea all included. Chris Smalling, Michael Carrick, Memphis Depay and Antonio Valencia are not in the squad.

Mkhitaryan’s inclusion is the most intriguing as the Armenian international has been fit in recent weeks but left out of matchday squads by Mourinho.

The playmaker has not featured for United since their 2-1 defeat to Manchester City in the Premier League on Sept. 10 when he was hooked off at half time after struggling out on the right flank. Mkhitaryan, 27, has since suffered from a thigh injury and the Bundesliga’s Players’ Player of the season in 2015-16 has found it tough to fight his way back into United’s plans.

Phil Jones has also been included in the squad as he continues his recovery from injury and along with Daley Blind and Marcos Rojo, those are the only three players who can play at center back for United.

Bastian Schweinsteiger returned to training this week after being exiled since the summer but he is not eligible to play in the Europa League group stage after being left out of the squad list.

They beat Fenerbache 4-1 two weeks ago and a win in Istanbul would put them in a commanding position to qualify for the knockout stages of the Europa League, depending on the result between Zorya Luhansk and Feyenoord.

Manchester United squad: De Gea, Romero, Johnstone; Blind, Jones, Darmian, Fosu-Mensah, Rojo, Shaw; Fellaini, Herrera, Mkhitaryan, Lingard, Mata, Pogba, Schneiderlin, Young; Ibrahimovic, Martial, Rashford, Rooney.

Follow @JPW_NBCSports