Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

Mexico, Panama get 2013 CONCACAF men’s U-tournaments


Mexico has been chosen by CONCACAF to host the federation’s 2013 Under-20 championships, it was announced today. The governing body also picked Panama to host the Under-17 tournament.

The U-20 competition will take place in late February, while the U-17s will play in early April, and don’t worry: The United States is automatically qualified for both.

The tournaments serve as qualifiers for their worldwide events, also to be held in 2013. Four teams will qualify from Mexico to the U-20 championships in Turkey. The United Arab Emirates will be the site of the U-17 tournament, also taking four nations from CONCACAF.

Here’s how the last few editions of these tournaments have shaked out:

2003Panama, U.S.Panama/CanadaPanama, Mexico, U.S., Canada2003Canada, GuatemalaCosta Rica, U.S.Costa Rica, U.S., Mexico
2005Honduras, U.S.U.S./CanadaU.S., Panama, Honduras, Canada2005Costa Rica, MexicoU.S., MexicoU.S., Mexico, Costa Rica
2007Panama, MexicoU.S./MexicoU.S., Mexico, Panama, Costa Rica2007Honduras, JamaicaHaiti, Costa RicaCosta Rica, Haiti, Honduras, Trinidad & Tobago, United States
2009Trinidad & TobagoCosta RicaCosta Rica, U.S., Honduras, Trinidad & Tobago2009MexicoNoneCosta Rica, Honduras, Mexico, United States
2011GuatemalaMexicoMexico, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Canada2011JamaicaU.S.Canada, Jamaica, Panama, U.S., Mexico (WC host)