Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

MLS announces award finalists: Giovinco, Kamara, Feilhaber up for MVP

Sebastian Giovinco

Sebastian Giovinco


With the regular season complete and the playoffs in full swing, Major League Soccer has announced the finalists for the 2015 season awards.

This year, the MVP award is officially recognized as the Landon Donovan MLS MVP, and is arguably the easiest to decide. While the Crew’s Kei Kamara and Sporting KC’s Benny Feilhaber both had brilliant seasons, it would be hard to find anyone not voting for Toronto’s Sebastian Giovinco.

[ FOLLOW: All of PST’s MLS coverage ]

In Giovinco’s first year in MLS, he led the league in both goals and assists, becoming the first player to put up a 20-10 season in league history.

Orlando City’s Cyle Larin is the favorite to take home the Rookie of the Year award, as the 20-year-old finished fifth in the league with 17 goals, a rookie record.

Check out the list of finalists below, and let us know who you think should win the awards, or if one of your team’s stars got snubbed.

Landon Donovan MLS MVP

Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC)
Kei Kamara (Columbus Crew SC)
Benny Feilhaber (Sporting KC)

Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

Bill Hamid (D.C. United)
Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)
David Ousted (Vancouver Whitecaps)

MLS Defender of the Year

Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact)
Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps)
Matt Hedges (FC Dallas)

AT&T Rookie of the Year

Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC)
Matt Polster (Chicago Fire)
Fatai Alashe (San Jose Earthquakes)

MLS Newcomer of the Year

Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC)
Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact)
Mike Grella (New York Red Bulls)

MLS Coach of the Year

Jesse Marsch (New York Red Bulls)
Oscar Pareja (FC Dallas)
Carl Robinson (Vancouver Whitecaps)