Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

No doubter: MLS Rookie of the Year gets 96 percent of vote

Cyle Larin

Cyle Larin, Orlando City SC


The least shocking story in MLS Awards season hit the news Tuesday, as Cyle Larin scooped up Major League Soccer’s Rookie of the Year award.

Larin, 20, was the first overall SuperDraft pick in the history of Orlando City, and the Canadian youngster responded by going bonkers on the score sheet. He’s now the first No. 1 pick since Maurice Edu in 2007 to win MLS ROY.

[ USMNT: Players with most to gain, lose in qualifiers ]

He netted an MLS rookie record 17 goals in 27 matches, basically equaling his strike rate at UConn in his first year in the pro ranks.

And, of course, he was a two-time PST MLS POTW.

When we say no-brainer, it’s partly because striker is a high-profile position. Chicago’s Matt Polster (SIUE) was quite good, and San Jose’s Fatai Alashe (Michigan State).

It’s also because, at 96% of the weighted vote, it wasn’t close.

Rookies of the Year don’t always go on to be all-timers, but it’s a pretty solid indication of a solid career in MLS or abroad. Larin will certainly be attracting attention from across the globe. Will Orlando cash in?

Rookie of the Year winners
2015: Cyle Larin, Orlando City
2014: Tesho Akindele, FC Dallas
2013: Dillon Powers, Colorado Rapids
2012: Austin Berry, Chicago Fire
2011: C.J. Sapong, Sporting Kansas City
2010: Andy Najar, D.C. United
2009: Omar Gonzalez, LA Galaxy
2008: Sean Franklin, LA Galaxy
2007: Maurice Edu, Toronto FC
2006: Jonathan Bornstein, Chivas USA
2005: Michael Parkhurst, New England Revolution
2004: Clint Dempsey, New England Revolution
2003: Damani Ralph, Chicago Fire
2002: Kyle Martino, Columbus Crew
2001: Rodrigo Faria, MetroStars
2000: Carlos Bocanegra, Chicago Fire
1999: Jay Heaps, Miami Fusion
1998: Ben Olsen, D.C. United
1997: Mike Duhaney, Tampa Bay Mutiny
1996: Steve Ralston, Tampa Bay Mutiny

Follow @NicholasMendola