Spanish court comes to senses, lifts Real Madrid reserve manager Zinedine Zidane’s coaching ban
Real Madrid and France
great legend icon Zinedine Zidane doesn’t have all of the necessary qualifications to manage a professional soccer team in Spain — something he has been doing with Madrid’s reserve team — so he was given with a three-month ban in October.
The French superstar does, however, have one World Cup winner’s and runners-up medal, each; one European Championships winner’s medal; one Champions League winner’s medal; one La Liga winner’s medal; one Ballon d’Or trophy; and three FIFA World Player of the Year trophies, to go along with an extensive list of others honors and winnings from his decorated playing career.
While that wasn’t enough “qualification” for the Spanish soccer federation, who handed out the initial suspension, on Friday the ban was struck down by a Spanish court — a group of people seemingly full of concepts like common sense, logic and sanity — which ruled Zidane is allowed to return to his managing ways, effective immediately.
Rules are rules, sure, but sometimes they do nothing but get in their own way. At least now Zidane can go back to coaching the team he was coaching, that he technically wasn’t allowed to coach, but was still probably coaching anyway.