Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Steffen wins USMNT award; Speaks on Man City transfer

Zack Steffen, James Rodriguez

U.S. goalkeeper Zack Steffen (12) blocks a shot by Colombia’s James Rodriguez, left, during the first half of an international friendly soccer match Thursday, Oct. 11, 2018, in Tampa, Fla. (AP Photo/John Raoux)


Manchester City goalkeeper Zack Steffen has been named U.S. Soccer’s Male Athlete of the Year.

The longtime Columbus Crew backstop, who will be with the club until summer, was the 2018 Major League Soccer Goalkeeper of the Year.

[ MORE: Zlatan a new DP with Galaxy ]

For country, Steffen earned his first six USMNT caps. One of those was a stunning performance in a 1-1 draw against France.

Steffen, 23, says he’s honored to be among the list of award winners in USMNT history.

He also talked about his upcoming move to Man City, via

“They’re a top-five team in the world – if not the best right now. I’m well aware of how good Ederson is, and I know I need to grow and get better in a lot of different areas. But my mentality is that when I get over there, I want to play. I’m really highly motivated to get the most out of these next six months in Columbus, and hopefully with the national team. I’m going to really push myself so that when I get to Manchester next summer, I’m that much more confident and prepared.”

Alex Mendez won the Young Male Player of the Award award, and like Steffen he’ll leave the U.S. for a new club in 2019.

The LA Galaxy product, 18, scored a goal with three assists for LA Galaxy II in the USL this season, and will join Freiburg -- Steffen’s former club -- in January.

Mendez will star for the U.S. U-20s at the World Cup in Poland this summer after appearing in 13 matches for the team this year.

U.S. Soccer provided this list of previous award winners.

YearMale Player of the YearYoung Male Player of the Year
2018Zack SteffenAlex Mendez
2017Christian PulisicJosh Sargent
2016Jozy Altidore (2)Christian Pulisic
2015Michael BradleyMatt Miazga
2014Tim Howard (2)DeAndre Yedlin
2013Jozy AltidoreWil Trapp
2012Clint Dempsey (3)Rubio Rubin
2011Clint Dempsey (2)Brek Shea
2010Landon Donovan (4)Gale Agbossoumonde
2009Landon Donovan (3)Luis Gil
2008Tim HowardSacha Kljestan
2007Clint DempseyMichael Bradley
2006Oguchi OnyewuJozy Altidore
2005Kasey Keller (3)Benny Feilhaber
2004Landon Donovan (2)Eddie Johnson
2003Landon DonovanFreddy Adu
2002Brad FriedelBobby Convey
2001Earnie StewartDaMarcus Beasley
2000Chris ArmasLandon Donovan
1999Kasey Keller (2)Ben Olsen
1998Cobi JonesJosh Wolff
1997Kasey Keller-
1996Eric Wynalda-
1995Alexi Lalas-
1994Marcelo Balboa (2)-
1993Thomas Dooley-
1992Marcelo Balboa-
1991Hugo Perez-
1990Tab Ramos-
1989Mike Windischmann-
1988Peter Vermes-
1987Brent Goulet-
1986Paul Caligiuri-
1985Perry Van der Beck-
1984Rick Davis-

Follow @NicholasMendola