Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

31 down; one to go: Updated list of countries qualified for FIFA 2014 World Cup in Brazil

2014 World Cup

Tuesday’s games saw six nations book their places in World Cup 2014, and with Mexico claiming one of the last spots with their Wednesday win in New Zealand, 31 of 32 places are settled ahead of today’s kickoff in Montevideo. That’s where the final spot in Brazil 2014 will be decided, with 2010 semifinalists Uruguay holding a 5-0 edge on Jordan after one leg of their intercontinental playoff.

Yesterday, Europe handed out their final four invitations, with Croatia, France, Greece and Portugal booking their spots in next summer’s field. Earlier in the day, Africa had completed their qualifying process, too, with Algeria and Ghana earning return trips to the World Cup.

Here is the full, updated list of nations that have booked their place in Brazil 2014:
Qualified nations out of AFRICA

  • Algeria
  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Nigeria
  • Ivory Coast

Qualified nations out of EUROPE

  • Belgium
  • Bosnia-Hercegovina
  • Croatia
  • England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • Switzerland

Qualified nations out of CONCACAF (North and Central America)

  • Costa Rica
  • Honduras
  • Mexico
  • United States

Qualified nations out of SOUTH AMERICA

  • Argentina
  • Brazil (hosts)
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador

Spots still to be filled: 1 **
Qualified nations out of ASIA

  • Australia
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • South Korea

** Uruguay is well in command of its home-and-away series against Jordan, which is from the Asian confederation