VIDEO: Chicharito’s handball incident goes to VAR
Javier “Chicharito” Hernandez is a lucky man.
With Mexico only needing a draw from their final Group F game against Sweden to advance to the Round of 16, El Tri were under severe pressure early on as Sweden, needing a win to advance, threw everything at them.
Towards half time Sweden felt aggrieved as Chicharito looked to have clearly handled the ball in the box.
Referee Nestor Pitana waved away the initial calls but then checked out the incident moments later as VAR was used.
Pitana didn’t overrule the decision and you have to feel like Chicharito, and Mexico, got away with one.
Take a look at the incident below for yourself to see if Sweden should’ve been handed (no pun intended) a penalty kick.