Everything you need to know about the 2022 U.S. Open


The third major golf championship of the year has drawn to a close. 

The U.S. Open is filled with challenges, allowing only the best in the game to be victorious. Rightfully so, the tournament has the largest championship purse of all four majors.

The annual tournament's first edition was in 1895 when the event was on a nine-hole course (36-hole competition) and held in a single day. In 1898, the event transitioned to an 18-hole course (72-hole competition) over two days. Currently, the event is four days long and features a field of 156 golfers.

Jon Rahm was crowned U.S. Open champion last year as he became the first player from Spain to win the event. The win launched Rahm to No. 1 in the Official World Golf Ranking. 

It was England's Matt Fitzpatrick turn this year. The win was Fitzpatrick's first major victory on the PGA Tour as he bested Will Zalatoris and Scottie Scheffler by one stroke and avoided a playoff.

While Fitzpatrick was ultimately left hoisting the Open trophy, plenty of other players made their splash off the green. 

Phil Mickelson entered the tournament surrounded by a cloud of controversy after joining the Saudi-backed LIV tour. He struggled out of the gate and ultimately missed the cut after Round 2. Meanwhile, Rory McIlroy finished in a tie for fifth, but remained a consistently vocal defender of the PGA Tour throughout the tournament.


Here’s everything you need to know about the 2022 U.S. Open at The Country Club in Brookline, Mass., ahead of the final two rounds:

When is the 2022 U.S. Open?

Where: The Country Club in Brookline, Mass.

When: Thursday, June 16 through Sunday, June 19

Championship purse: $12.5 million

Where can I watch the 2022 U.S. Open Championship?

The 2022 U.S. Open Championship will be shown live on NBC, USA Network and Peacock.

2022 U.S. Open results

Here are the top-11 finishers at the tournament:

1. Matt Fitzpatrick: -6

T-2. Scottie Scheffler: -5

T-2: Will Zalatoris: -5

4. Hideki Matsuyama: -3

T-5. Collin Morikawa: -2

T-5: Rory McIlroy: -2

T-7. Denny McCarthy: -1

T-7. Adam Hadwin: -1

T-7: Keegan Bradley: -1

T-10: Gary Woodland: E

T-10. Joel Dahmen: E

Who are the most recent U.S. Open champions?

Willie Anderson, Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan and Jack Nicklaus all hold the record for most U.S. Open titles won with four. Anderson, who won the title three years in a row from 1903-05, holds the record for most consecutive wins.

Here are the winners of the U.S. Open in the past 10 years:

2021: Jon Rahm

2020: Bryson DeChambeau

2019: Gary Woodland

2018: Brooks Koepka

2017: Brooks Koepka

2016: Dustin Johnson

2015: Jordan Spieth

2014: Martin Kaymer

2013: Justin Rose

2012: Webb Simpson