Normally, when NHL referees call goalie interference, the goalie is, well, you know, interfered with. But that wasn't exactly the case in Wednesday's Game 4 between the Capitals and Maple Leafs.
In the third period of the contest, Nicklas Backstrom parked himself near Toronto's net. Nate Schmidt then flipped the puck toward the net, and it sailed past Frederik Andersen.
It was immediately waved off, however, with the officials saying Backstrom's "contact" with Andersen was illegal (you can watch the sequence in the full video above).
Twitter was not in agreement with the call:
What?????????????????????— Craig Laughlin (@Laughlin18) April 20, 2017
Dumb that this is even an issue. That's a goal. #CapsLeafs— Michael Jenkins (@JenksNBCS) April 20, 2017
"I don't see it," Craig Laughlin said simply on the broadcast. "That should be a goal."
Fortunately, the Capitals ended up winning the game anyway, 5-4. If that result differed in any way, the NHL would've had a major controversy on its hands.
MORE CAPITALS: TOM WILSON MAKES POTENTIAL SERIES-DEFINING PLAY