Before first pitch against the Braves on Sunday, the Washington Nationals yielded the field for a celebration as the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame inducted 11 members to the 2019 class.

The class includes D.C. legends from sports such as football, basketball and soccer. The Hall of Fame created a new category to honor a "Team of Distinction." It is no surprise that the 2018 Stanley Cup Champions are the first to receive this honor. 

The full list of honorees are:

  • Andrew Beyer – covered horse racing for the Washington Post for four decades, created the Beyer Speed Figure
  • Tom Brown – two-sport professional athlete, played with the Washington Senators and Washington Redskins
  • Sasho Cirovski – winningest coach in U. of Maryland men’s soccer history, three-time NCAA champion
  • Tom Dolan – two-time Olympic gold medal-winning swimmer (1996 and 2000) and former world record holder
  • Danny Ferry – men’s basketball national player of the year at DeMatha Catholic High School and Duke University
  • Ray Flaherty (1903-1994) – first head coach of the Washington Redskins, two-time NFL champion
  • Charles Mann – two-time NFL Super Bowl champion during 11 seasons with the Washington Redskins
  • Kevin Payne – first president and CEO of DC United and four-time MLS Cup champion
  • Cathy Reese – three-time coach of the year with U. of Maryland women’s lacrosse, 12-time NCAA champion
  • Allie Ritzenberg (1918-2018) – fixture of D.C.’s tennis community for nearly eight decades
  • 2017-18 Washington Capitals – 2018 Stanley Cup champions, brought first NHL title to D.C.

The Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame was founded in 1980 and honors over 100 members of D.C. sports from athletes, sports journalists and executives.