It took just one period into his first game of the season for Tom Wilson to score a goal. Unfortunately, it also took him just one period to get a reputation penalty called against him.
And somehow, they both happened on the same play.
In a very “this could only happen to Wilson” moment, Wilson crashed the net in the first period of Tuesday's game against the Minnesota Wild looking for a tip-in on a pass from Dmitry Orlov. He is engaged by defenseman Ryan Suter from behind on the play. Wilson gets his stick on the ice to tip it in for the goal but is pushed into goalie Devan Dubnyk which knocks the netminder’s helmet off and left him down on the ice for several moments.
So now, if you’re the referee, you have a call to make. Either Wilson was pushed into Dubynk meaning the play is legal and the goal counts or Wilson is guilty of crashing into the goalie and guilty of goalie interference which would negate the goal and possibly give Wilson a two-minute minor.
The referees went with Option C: All of the above.
The goal counted, but Wilson was also given a two-minute minor for goalie interference.
Tuesday’s game is Wilson’s first of the season after a neutral arbitrator reduced his 20-game suspension. The image of Wilson celebrating a goal over a sprawled goalie will likely cause some grumbling amongst the Wilson detractors.
It should be noted, however, that Minnesota did not challenge the goal for goalie interference and the goal was allowed to stand. You have to think that if Wild head coach Bruce Boudreau thought he had a chance of getting that goal overturned, he would have taken it.
Instead, Wilson was given the goal...and somehow the penalty for goalie interference on the same play.
Only Tom Wilson.
MORE TOM WILSON NEWS: