Capitals

Click here for complete MLB playoffs schedule

904773.jpg

Click here for complete MLB playoffs schedule

From Comcast SportsNet

Wild-Card Play-In Games

Friday, Oct. 5 - St. Louis at Atlanta, 5:07 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 5 - Baltimore at Texas, 8:37 p.m.

American League Division Series - Detroit-Oakland

Saturday, Oct. 6 at Detroit
Sunday, Oct. 7 at Detoit
Tuesday, Oct. 9 at Oakland
Wednesday, Oct. 10 at Oakland
Thursday, Oct. 11 at Oakland

American League Division Series - New York-BALTEX

Sunday, Oct. 7 at BALTEX
Monday, Oct. 8 at BALTEX
Wednesday, Oct. 10 at New York
Thursday, Oct. 11 at New York
Friday, Oct. 12 at New York

National League Division Series - San Francisco-Cincinnati

Saturday, Oct. 6 at San Francisco
Sunday, Oct. 7 at San Francisco
Tuesday, Oct. 9 at Cincinnati
Wednesday, Oct. 10 at Cincinnati
Thursday, Oct. 11 at Cincinnati

National League Division Series - Washington-STLATL

Sunday, Oct. 7 at STLATL
Monday, Oct. 8 at STLATL
Wednesday, Oct. 10 at Washington
Thursday, Oct. 11 at Washington
Friday, Oct. 12 at Washington

American League Championship Series

Saturday, Oct. 13
Sunday, Oct. 14
Tuesday, Oct. 16
Wednesday, Oct. 17
Thursday, Oct. 18
Saturday, Oct. 20
Sunday, Oct. 21

National League Championship Series

Sunday, Oct. 14
Monday, Oct. 15
Wednesday, Oct. 17
Thursday, Oct. 18
Friday, Oct. 19
Sunday, Oct. 21
Monday, Oct. 22

World Series

Wednesday, Oct. 24 at NL
Thursday, Oct. 25 at NL
Saturday, Oct. 27 at AL
Sunday, Oct. 28 at AL
Monday, Oct. 29 at AL
Wednesday, Oct. 31 at NL
Thursday, Nov. 1 at NL

Quick Links

Alex Ovechkin scored the goal that sent the Capitals to the Stanley Cup Final

Alex Ovechkin scored the goal that sent the Capitals to the Stanley Cup Final

On June 4, 1998, Joe Juneau scored the biggest goal in the history of the Washington Capitals.

In Game 6 of the Eastern Conference Final, Juneau attacked the crease and shot in a rebound past a helpless Dominik Hasek in overtime to defeat the Buffalo Sabres and win the Eastern Conference.

That goal sent the Capitals to its first and, before 2018, only Stanley Cup Final.

Alex Ovechkin’s name was already etched in the history books for the Capitals several times over, but on Wednesday he added it again with the biggest goal of his career. His goal in Game 7 stood as the game-winner meaning it was the goal that sent the Capitals to their second Cup Final.

You can watch it here:

It did not come in overtime and was not quite as dramatic as Juneau’s. In fact, no one knew the significance of the goal at the time. It came just 62 seconds into the contest. It was a significant goal, but no one realized right away that it would be an historic one.

How fitting is it that Ovechkin scored the game-winner? Ovechkin who this team was built around, who reignited the franchise and built Washington into a hockey city. After all the criticism over the years, all the talk about how he can’t win, all talk about how the team should take away the C and all the talk about how the Caps should trade him and start over, this goal was not just a moment of history, but one of vindication.

When we look back on Ovechkin’s career, at all the individual awards and accomplishments, this one single goal will stand above the rest. This was the biggest game of his career and he scored the biggest goal of his career just 62 seconds in.

There’s one way he can top that: lead the Caps past Vegas for their first Stanley Cup.

MORE CAPITALS STORIES:

5.24.18: Rick Horrow talks with Andy Bush, EVP Global Events Octagon Worldwide

usatsi_10844776.jpg
USA TODAY Sports

5.24.18: Rick Horrow talks with Andy Bush, EVP Global Events Octagon Worldwide

Sports professor Rick Horrow talks with Andy Bush, EVP Global Events at Octagon Worldwide and wraps around the world of sports business for this week.

By Rick Horrow

Podcast Editor: Tanner Simkins

LISTEN TO THE FULL PODCAST HERE.