Redskins

Click here for complete MLB playoffs schedule

904773.jpg

Click here for complete MLB playoffs schedule

From Comcast SportsNet

Wild-Card Play-In Games

Friday, Oct. 5 - St. Louis at Atlanta, 5:07 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 5 - Baltimore at Texas, 8:37 p.m.

American League Division Series - Detroit-Oakland

Saturday, Oct. 6 at Detroit
Sunday, Oct. 7 at Detoit
Tuesday, Oct. 9 at Oakland
Wednesday, Oct. 10 at Oakland
Thursday, Oct. 11 at Oakland

American League Division Series - New York-BALTEX

Sunday, Oct. 7 at BALTEX
Monday, Oct. 8 at BALTEX
Wednesday, Oct. 10 at New York
Thursday, Oct. 11 at New York
Friday, Oct. 12 at New York

National League Division Series - San Francisco-Cincinnati

Saturday, Oct. 6 at San Francisco
Sunday, Oct. 7 at San Francisco
Tuesday, Oct. 9 at Cincinnati
Wednesday, Oct. 10 at Cincinnati
Thursday, Oct. 11 at Cincinnati

National League Division Series - Washington-STLATL

Sunday, Oct. 7 at STLATL
Monday, Oct. 8 at STLATL
Wednesday, Oct. 10 at Washington
Thursday, Oct. 11 at Washington
Friday, Oct. 12 at Washington

American League Championship Series

Saturday, Oct. 13
Sunday, Oct. 14
Tuesday, Oct. 16
Wednesday, Oct. 17
Thursday, Oct. 18
Saturday, Oct. 20
Sunday, Oct. 21

National League Championship Series

Sunday, Oct. 14
Monday, Oct. 15
Wednesday, Oct. 17
Thursday, Oct. 18
Friday, Oct. 19
Sunday, Oct. 21
Monday, Oct. 22

World Series

Wednesday, Oct. 24 at NL
Thursday, Oct. 25 at NL
Saturday, Oct. 27 at AL
Sunday, Oct. 28 at AL
Monday, Oct. 29 at AL
Wednesday, Oct. 31 at NL
Thursday, Nov. 1 at NL

Quick Links

NFL owners unanimously approve new national anthem policy

usatsi_10587585.jpg
USA TODAY Sports

NFL owners unanimously approve new national anthem policy

NFL owners have unanimously approved a new national anthem policy that allows players to remain in the locker room if they prefer but requires players to stand if they are on the field during the performance.

This new policy subjects teams, but not players, to fines if any team personnel do not show appropriate respect for the anthem. 

Teams will also have the option to fine any team personnel, including players, for the infraction separately though. 

The NFL Players Association released it's own statement after the news was made official.

 

Quick Links

In a surprise twist, Barry Trotz takes The Hot Lap ahead of Game 7

In a surprise twist, Barry Trotz takes The Hot Lap ahead of Game 7

TAMPA—Head Coach Barry Trotz skated the hot lap prior to Wednesday’s Game 7 at Amalie Arena, taking over the superstitious tradition from captain Alex Ovechkin.

Why the change?

The Caps lost Game 5 here on Saturday. And when the Caps lose on the road—the only place where the morning-skate-starting hot lap takes place—a new skater is selected.

The weird tradition began in the first round at Nationwide Arena in Columbus when Jay Beagle grew tired of waiting for the ice to freeze over following a fresh Zamboni cut. Beagle's teammates implored him to wait a little longer for the ice to cure, but he grew impatient and took it upon himself to kick off the skate by racing around the rink, a la the fastest skater competition at the All Star Skills competition.

Ovechkin took it over prior to Game 6 in Pittsburgh because the Caps had lost Game 4 at PPG Paints Arena.

Ovechkin proudly carried on the tradition as Washington won three in a row—Game 6 in Pittsburgh and Games 1 and 2 of this series vs. Tampa Bay.

Following the Caps’ 3-2 defeat in Game 5 here, though, it was expected that a change would be made.

And on Wednesday morning the baton changed hands, with the least obvious of all the Caps busting his 55-year-old hump around the rink much to the delight of his players and assistants.

MORE CAPITALS STORIES