Commanders

How to watch Commanders vs. Panthers Preseason

Commanders
Commanders-Panthers

Football season is finally here.

The Washington Commanders' 2022 season unofficially kicks off on Saturday, Aug. 13, when the Burgundy and Gold welcome the Carolina Panthers to FedEx Field in Week 1 of the preseason.

Washington head coach Ron Rivera stated on Aug. 6 that Carson Wentz will play in the team's preseason opener, giving fans their first real look at the Commanders' new quarterback. 

On Carolina's side, both Baker Mayfield and Sam Darnold are expected to play, as head coach Matt Rhule does not plan to name a starting quarterback until later in training camp. 

Saturday will also mark the first time Washington plays a game as the 'Commanders' following February's rebrand. For a preseason contest, there are plenty of fun storylines to follow.

Here's everything you need to know for Washington's preseason opener:

COMMANDERS vs. PANTHERS PRESEASON WEEK 1

Who: Washington Commanders vs. Carolina Panthers 

What: Week 1 of the 2022 NFL preseason

When: Saturday, August 13, 2022, 1 p.m. ET

Where: FedExField, Landover, MD

TV Channel: NBC4 and NBC Sports Washington

Live Stream: Live stream on NBC Sports Washington

Weather: 82 degrees, sunny

COMMANDERS vs. PANTHERS TV SCHEDULE:

12:00 p.m: Commanders Pregame Live (NBC and NBCSW)

1:00 p.m.: Washington Commanders vs. Carolina Panthers (NBC and NBCSW)

4:00 p.m.: Commanders Postgame Live (NBCSW)

WASHINGTON FOOTBALL 2022 SEASON SCHEDULE:

Week 1: Sunday, Sept. 11, Commanders vs. Jaguars

Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 18, Commanders @ Lions

 

Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 25, Commanders vs. Eagles

Week 4: Sunday, Oct. 2, Commanders @ Cowboys

Week 5: Sunday, Oct. 9, Commanders vs. Titans

Week 6: Thursday, Oct. 13, Commanders @ Bears

Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 23, Commanders vs. Packers

Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 30, Commanders @ Colts

Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 6, Commanders vs. Vikings

Week 10: Monday, Nov. 14, Commanders @ Eagles

Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 20, Commanders @ Texans

Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 27: Commanders vs. Falcons

Week 13: Sunday, Dec. 4, Commanders @ Giants

Week 14: BYE

Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 18, Commanders vs. Giants

Week 16: Saturday, Dec. 24, Commanders @ 49ers

Week 17: Sunday, Jan. 1, Commanders vs. Browns

Week 18: Sunday, Jan. 8, Commanders @ Cowboys