Football Team

NFL Honors Recap: MVP Aaron Rodgers headlines award recipients

Football Team

The ongoing coronavirus pandemic prevented the 10th annual NFL Honors from happening in its typical fashion, but Saturday night's award show was as good as any prior.

Green Bay Packers star Aaron Rodgers was named league MVP, the third of his illustrious career. Rodgers is now just the sixth player in NFL history to have won the award more than twice.

The Washington Football Team was well represented during the NFL Honors on Saturday night. Quarterback Alex Smith was named Comeback Player of the Year, while Chase Young was named Defensive Rookie of the Year. Both were voted to their respective award by wide margins, too.

Outside of the yearly awards, the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its seven recipients of the 2021 class, headlined by Peyton Manning and Charles Woodson.

Miss the NFL Honors? Here's a recap:

MVP: Aaron Rodgers, QB, Packers

Offensive Player of the Year: Derrick Henry, RB, Titans

Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Donald, DT, Rams

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Justin Herbert, QB, Chargers

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Chase Young, DE, Washington

Comeback Player of the Year: Alex Smith, QB, Washington

Coach of the Year: Kevin Stefanski, Browns

Assistant Coach of the Year: Brian Daboll, Bills


Walter Payton Man of the Year: Russell Wilson, QB, Seahawks

Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award: Teddy Bridgewater, QB, Panthers

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021: Peyton Manning, Charles Woodson, Calvin Johnson, Drew Pearson, John Lynch, Tom Flores, Alan Faneca