Football Team

NFL reportedly confirms offsides call despite Giants' doubts

Football Team

Dustin Hopkins got a second chance on Thursday night in the form of a Dexter Lawrence offsides call, and he did what you're supposed to do with second chances: take advantage.

A Giants source, however, reportedly suggested to Blue Rush podcast host Lawrence Tynes that Hopkins' first field goal attempt, the missed 48-yarder, should've also been his final one. Instead, the kicker got to try one from 43 yards away following the Lawrence penalty, and he put it through.

Here's what Tynes — a former specialist for New York who now hosts the podcast centered around the franchise — tweeted on Friday afternoon:

While it's more than a little dubious to run with the word of someone in the Giants organization on a controversial play that really cost Big Blue, replays did show that Lawrence's infraction was extremely close:

The NFL, meanwhile, has reviewed the tape and concluded that the officials were indeed right in their decision to blow the whistle on the New York defensive lineman:

It's understandable why there's a lot of angst surrounding the sequence.

Not only did it clear the way for Hopkins to hit his second shot and send the NFC East squads into two totally different directions, but it did appear to be a legitimate toss-up. By moving prematurely at all, though, Lawrence did put the fate of his group in the referees' hands, which proved to be mighty hurtful. 

"The biggest thing for him is it's gonna be a tough lesson," Giants coach Joe Judge said late Thursday night. "It's a lesson you got to learn, a lesson we all have to learn as a team that we don't repeat the mistakes one by one. You've got to see that and make sure you clean it up."


Lawrence's next opportunity to make up for his error comes next weekend in against the Falcons. It's going to be a longgggggg wait for him.