2017 Atlantic 10 Tournament Preview: Schedule, Location, Time, How to Watch

2017 Atlantic 10 Tournament Preview: Schedule, Location, Time, How to Watch

The 2017 Atlantic 10 basketball Tournament is headed to Pittsburgh as the premier mid-major conference in the country looks to see if more than two teams can earn bids to the 2017 NCAA Basketball Tournament.

The Dayton Flyers (24-6, 15-3) secured yet their second straight regular season title and are all but assured an at-large bid to The Big Dance thanks to non-conference wins over Alabama and Vanderbilt, coupled with a 3-point loss to Northwestern.

The same applies to the VCU Rams, which finished with a 24-7 overall record and a 14-4 record in conference play. VCU has played in each of the last four Atlantic 10 Tournament championship games and boasts non-conference wins over St. John's, LSU, Princeton and Middle Tennessee, coming up short against Illinois, Georgia Tech and Baylor.

The biggest question surrounding the A-10 Tournament is whether or not another team, like preseason Top 25 Rhode Island, or the No. 3-seed Richmond Spiders, can run the table, and steal a bid from teams waiting on the bubble. Rhode Island has the talent to do so, and enters the tournament having won the final five games on their schedule, including a win over VCU.

Here is all the information on the 2017 A-10 Basketball Tournament.



When: Wednesday, March 8 – Saturday, March 12

Where: Paints Arena, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 

How to watch: The 2017 Atlantic 10 Tournament will be aired on ASN, NBCSN, CBSSN, CBS 

Tournament Bracket: Atlantic 10 Tournament Bracket 


Wednesday, March 8 (First Round)
No. 12 UMass 70, No. 13 Saint Joseph's 63
No. 11 Saint Louis 72, No. 14 Duquesne 71

Thursday, March 9 (Second Round)
Game 3:
 No. 8 La Salle vs. No. 9 Davidson — Noon (NBCSN)
Game 4: No. 5 St. Bonaventure vs. No. 12 UMass — 2:30 p.m. (NBCSN)
Game 5: No. 7 George Mason vs. No. 10 Fordham —6:00 p.m. (NBCSN)
Game 6: No. 6 George Washington vs. No. 11 Saint Louis — 8:30 p.m. (NBCSN)

Friday, March 10 (Quaterfinals0
Game 7: 
No. 1 Dayton vs. Game 3 winner — Noon (NBCSN)
Game 8: No. 4 Rhode Island vs. Game 4 winner — 2:30 p.m., (NBCSN)
Game 9: No. 2 VCU vs. Game 5 winner — 6:00 p.m., (NBCSN)
Game 10: No. 3 Richmond vs. Game 6 winner— 8:30 p.m., (NBCSN)

Saturday, March 11 (Semifinals)
Game 11:
 Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner—1:00 p.m., (CBBSN)
Game 12: Game 9 winner vs. Game 10 winner —3:30 p.m., (CBBSN)

Sunday, March 12 (Championship)
Game 13: 
Game 11 winner vs. Game 12 winner—12:30 p.m (CBS)


Georgetown gets a boost with Jessie Govan returning to school

USA Today Sports Images

Georgetown gets a boost with Jessie Govan returning to school

After testing the NBA Draft waters, Georgetown center Jessie Govan decided to return to the Hoyas for his senior season.

Govan announced his intention to return on Instagram a week before the final commitment deadline.

Returning to the Hoyas is definitely a boost to the program that will be in their second year under head coach Patrick Ewing.  At 6-10, Govan was the team’s leading scorer (17.9 ppg) and rebounder (10.0 rpg) averaging a double-double last season.

Paired alongside power forward Marcus Derrickson, the Hoyas were nearly unstoppable in the paint. Derrickson though decided to forgo his senior year and signed with an agent after the season.

Had Govan decided to leave that would have meant over 56 percent of the team’s scoring and rebounding would have departed (to graduation or professional pursuits) in a handful of months. Not the best outlook for a 15-win team that went 5-13 in the Big East.

Instead Ewing gets back his leading scorer that many believe he can mold as a young protégée. While in the draft process without an agent Govan had workouts with the Boston Celtics and the New York Knicks. Both are valuable experiences that he will bring to a relatively young Georgetown squad.

Having Govan for one more year will bridge Ewing’s second season to transfer big-man, Omer Yurtseven to his first year of eligibility in 2019. They were set up to having a walk-on and two sophomores being the only returning Hoyas over 6-6 for the upcoming season.


Future NBA prospect Omer Yurtseven transfers to Georgetown from NC State


Future NBA prospect Omer Yurtseven transfers to Georgetown from NC State

The pieces are starting to come together for Patrick Ewing.

On Monday the Georgetown Hoyas picked up perhaps the biggest (literally and figuratively) target of the transfer market, Omer Yurtseven.

From North Carolina State, the transfer from Istanbul Turkey will have two years remaining of eligibility. Due to NCAA transfer rules, he is not allowed to play for the 2018-19 season.


Standing at 7-0, the center helped power the Wolfpack to an NCAA tournament bid this past season. Averaging 13.5 points, 6.7 rebounds, and 1.8 blocks a contest, Yurstseven earned All-ACC Third Team honors in the 2017-18 season. He also touted a 58.3 shooting percentage and was not afraid to pull it up from deep either (22 made three-pointers).

NC State lost in the first round of the NCAA Tournament to No. 8 Seton Hall, but he was limited due to foul trouble with only two points and two rebounds in 14 minutes of play.

Initially, he is the option to fill the void that Jessie Govan will leave, whether that is during this offseason or next. Already the team has lost power forward Marcus Derrickson

Yurtseven will just be another frontcourt talent for Ewing with the Hoyas.

It was widely reported that he was considering playing options, both in the United States and abroad before this announcement. Easily he has the talent to go in first round of the NBA Draft whichever year he declares.

On the same day, the Hoyas also announced the signing of four-star guard James Akinjo.