Heisman finalists announced, highlighted by Clemson's Lawrence


Clemson's Trevor Lawrence, Florida's Kyle Trask and Alabama's Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith were named finalists for the Heisman Trophy, it was announced Thursday night.

With Jones, the Tide's stellar quarterback, and Smith, their dynamic wide receiver, Alabama now has 10 Heisman finalists in its history. Florida is up to eight and Clemson has three.

Smith, the only non-quarterback of the group and the 2020 SEC Offensive Player of the Year, has 98 catches this year for 1,511 yards and 17 touchdowns. Along with Jones, he helped lead Alabama to an 11-0 record and the top seed in the College Football Playoff.

Jones no doubt benefitted from having Smith to pass to, but the quarterback played his part in team's undefeated campaign. He's thrown for 3,739 yards and 32 touchdowns with just four interceptions and a 76.5 completion percentage.

Lawrence, the ACC Player of the Year, also guided his team to a spot in the College Football Playoff, grabbing the second seed with a 10-1 record. Clemson's only loss came in one of the two games Lawrence missed after he tested positive for COVID-19. Lawrence has 2,753 yards and 22 touchdowns with four interceptions and a 69.2 completion percentage. He also has over 200 yards and seven touchdowns on the ground.

Trask is the only player of the group not to have a spot in the CFP after Florida fell to 8-3 with losses in its last two games, including a one-score loss to Alabama in the SEC title game. But the quarterback's numbers are impressive. Trask has passed for 4,125 yards and 43 touchdowns with five interceptions and a 69.7 completion percentage.


The Heisman Trophy will be awarded to the winner on Jan. 5.