VT now one of two Power 5 schools never to win team sport title


Virginia Tech and Kansas State are now the only two Power 5 schools to have never won a team sport national championship

The Hokies had another member of the "no rings club" win the ultimate prize when Mississippi State won the College World Series on Wednesday night. 

With the Mississippi State Bulldogs winning the school's first-ever title, Virginia Tech of the ACC and Kansas State of the Big 12 are now the only odd schools left out. Every program in the Big Ten, Pac-12, and now SEC have won at least one national championship. 

One of the closest times Virginia Tech got to winning a national title came in 2000, when the Michael Vick-led Hokies lost to Florida State, 46-29, in the BCS Sugar Bowl. 

In-state rivals Virginia, on the other hand, has won 29 national championships in school history. The Cavaliers added to that tally this year when they won the 2021 national women's swimming and men's lacrosse championships.

The list has shrunk to about as far as it can go as Virginia Tech athletics fans will hope to beat Kansas State to a national title before being the lone school left on this undesirable set of schools.