AFC North makes history by starting 3 Heisman quarterbacks


Lamar Jackson made a lot of history in 2019, thanks to his prodigious passing and otherworldly running.

In Week 1 of 2020, he's already making history again. This time, alongside his fellow AFC North signal-callers.

Jackson, the Browns' Baker Mayfield and the Bengals' Joe Burrow are the first trio of former Heisman-winning quarterbacks to start for the same division on the same day in NFL history. Mayfield and Jackson will be on the same field in Baltimore, while Burrow will be taking on the Chargers in Cincinnati.

Jackson won his Heisman trophy first in 2016, followed by Mayfield in 2017. Burrow won in 2019, eventually being selected number one overall in the draft, same as Mayfield. Jackson, of course, famously fell to the 32nd pick in the first round of the 2018 draft.

Along with Mayfield and his teammate Mark Ingram, Jackson has leaned into his Heisman history, starring in a new commercial with a few other past winners at the famed Heisman House.