Singleton provides latest spark for Wizards


Singleton provides latest spark for Wizards

In their first three games – all losses – the Wizards have had someone come off the bench to ignite a run.

In their season-opening loss to the Cavaliers it was Jordan Crawford scoring a team-high 11 points. In their home opener against the Celtics it was Crawford [21 points] and Kevin Seraphin [19 points] leading a charger off the bench.

And in Wednesday night’s 100-94 overtime loss to the Celtics it was Chris Singleton coming up big in the fourth quarter to force the game into overtime.

“We had guys come off the bench again that gave us a spark,” Wizards coach Randy Wittman said.

Singleton played just 18 seconds in Saturday night’s loss to the Celtics, but when Wittman tapped his shoulder in Boston Wednesday night the second-year forward responded with 14 points – 12 of them in the final quarter.

He finished the night shooting 6-for-10 from the floor with five rebounds and three steals in 25 minutes. His 14 points were two short of his career high set as a rookie last season.

Singleton drained a pair of free throws to tie the score at 86-86 with 33.1 seconds left. Then, after Rajon Rondo hit a jumper to give the Celtics a two-point lead, Singleton tied it at 88-88 with a thunderous dunk with 9.4 seconds to play.

Singleton showed incredible poise on the play, waiting for Rondo to jump past him. When Brandon Bass darted toward a wide-open Bradley Beal in the far corner, Singleton alertly streaked down the lane for the stuff that sent the game into overtime.

But as was the case in the Wizards’ three-point loss to the Celts on Saturday night, mistakes down the stretch cost them a victory.

With the Wizards trailing 95-92 in the closing minute of overtime, Singleton had an attempt blocked by Kevin Garnett, who dished to Rondo, who found Bass streaking down the lane for a game-clinching dunk.

“We’ve got to learn how to play down the stretch of games,” Wittman said. “A lot of these guys have never been in a position like this before. It’s a learning process of taking care of the ball, executing, making a play down the stretch. It’s disappointing because we lost, but there were a lot of good things.”

 The Wizards will look for their first win of the season Friday night at Verizon Center when the Milwaukee Bucks [2-1] make their first visit to D.C.


Quick Links

Need to Know: The best pass rushers the Redskins will face in 2018

USA Today Sports Images

Need to Know: The best pass rushers the Redskins will face in 2018

Here is what you need to know on this Thursday, July 19, seven days before the Washington Redskins start training camp.  

The five best pass rushers the Redskins will face in 2018

This week we’ll be looking at the best of what the Redskins will face during the 2018 season. Today the pass rushers are up. They are roughly ranked by Pro Football Focus’ pass rush productivity metric, although I did some juggling based on offseason moves and other factors. Prior to this we looked at the best teamsreceivers,running backs, and quarterbacks

1. Calais Campbell, Jaguars—If he gets a sack against the Redskins in Week 15, many fans will once again rue draft day in 2008 when the Redskins took both WR Devin Thomas and TE Fred Davis in the second round while Campbell was still on the board. He has been a consistent pass rusher since coming into the league, averaging eight sacks a season. Campbell is coming off of a career-high 14.5. 

2. Demarcus Lawrence, Cowboys—He had nine career sacks going into last year and then he broke out in a big way with 14.5. He got three sacks against the Redskins last year and has five in six career games. He actually ranked ahead of Campbell in the PFF pass rush metric, but I put Campbell ahead of him because we’re not sure if Lawrence is a great pass rusher or if he just peaked in his contract year. 

3. Chandler Jones, Cardinals—He posted double-digit sacks in four of the last five years including a league-leading 17 last season. His 2017 performance earned him first-team All-Pro honors for the first time in his career. Jones does more than get sacks. He has 16 career forced fumbles; only five players have forced more since he came into the league in 2012.

4. J.J. Watt, Texans—Injuries have limited him to eight games over the past two seasons. Even if the missed time has him beneath his peak years of 2012-2015, when he was first-team All-Pro every year and defensive player of the year three times, he will be difficult to deal with. 

5. Brian Orakpo, Titans—His career with the Redskins was a mixed bag, with two Pro Bowls and two seasons with double-digit sacks. After Orakpo missed 23 games from 2012-2015, the Redskins didn’t make him a competitive contract offer and he left to sign with the Titans. He hasn’t missed a game in three seasons in Tennessee and has averaged eight sacks per season. 

Best of the rest: Yannick Ngakoue, Jaguars; Clay Matthews, Packers; Vic Beasley, Falcons; Jason Pierre-Paul, Buccaneers; Cam Jordan, Saints

Stay up to date on the Redskins. Rich Tandler covers the team 365 days a year. Like his Facebook page, follow him on Twitter  @TandlerNBCSand on Instagram @RichTandler

Tandler on Instagram

Post up on #Redskins

A post shared by Rich Tandler (@richtandler) on


Redskins six-time Pro Bowl left tackle Trent Williams was born on this date in 1988.

Days until:

—Training camp starts (7/26) 7
—Preseason opener @ Patriots (8/9) 21
—Roster cut to 53 (9/1) 44

The Redskins last played a game 200 days ago. They will open the 2018 NFL season at the Cardinals in 52 days. 

In case you missed it

Quick Links

Alex Ovechkin takes home ESPY for Best Male Athlete Award

USA Today Sports Images

Alex Ovechkin takes home ESPY for Best Male Athlete Award

Alexander Ovechkin's offseason continues to be one for the books. 

Just a week removed from celebrating with the Stanley Cup in Moscow, Ovechkin was named Best Male Athlete Wednesday night at the 2018 ESPYs. 

The 32-year-old is the first NHL player to win the award since it was first introduced in 1993. 

"The Great Eight" beat out Jose Altuve of the Houston Astros, James Harden of the Houston Rockets and Tom Brady of the New England Patriots. 

Ovechkin was not in Los Angeles to accept the award.