Ty Jerome

Did Ty Jerome get away with a double-dribble in Virginia's Final Four win over Auburn?

ty-jerome-loose-ball-uva-auburn-usat.jpg
USA Today Sports Images

Did Ty Jerome get away with a double-dribble in Virginia's Final Four win over Auburn?

It wouldn't be an instant Final Four classic without a little bit of controversy!

With Virginia trailing Auburn 62-60 in the final seconds Saturday, UVA point guard Ty Jerome dribbled the ball up the court, but then bumped it off his back foot. Jerome then picked the ball off the court and began dribbling again, seemingly a double-dribble which would have resulted in a turnover and given the ball back to the Tigers.

And yet, no whistle blew.

After the game, CBS' Gene Steratore explained why the referees should have called a double-dribble on Jerome. 

“As Ty Jerome brings the ball up the court, he accidentally bumps the ball off his back foot … he then re-possesses this ball with both hands. That ends his dribble," said Steratore. "Then he makes the decision to dribble again, which by rule is a double-dribble."

Following the no-call, UVA's Kyle Guy was fouled on a three-point attempt with 0.6 seconds left, and made all three free throws to give the Cavaliers an improbable 63-62 win. 

MORE NCAA TOURNAMENT NEWS: