Virginia Cavaliers

Did Ty Jerome get away with a double-dribble in Virginia's Final Four win over Auburn?

ty-jerome-loose-ball-uva-auburn-usat.jpg
USA Today Sports Images

Did Ty Jerome get away with a double-dribble in Virginia's Final Four win over Auburn?

It wouldn't be an instant Final Four classic without a little bit of controversy!

With Virginia trailing Auburn 62-60 in the final seconds Saturday, UVA point guard Ty Jerome dribbled the ball up the court, but then bumped it off his back foot. Jerome then picked the ball off the court and began dribbling again, seemingly a double-dribble which would have resulted in a turnover and given the ball back to the Tigers.

And yet, no whistle blew.

After the game, CBS' Gene Steratore explained why the referees should have called a double-dribble on Jerome. 

“As Ty Jerome brings the ball up the court, he accidentally bumps the ball off his back foot … he then re-possesses this ball with both hands. That ends his dribble," said Steratore. "Then he makes the decision to dribble again, which by rule is a double-dribble."

Following the no-call, UVA's Kyle Guy was fouled on a three-point attempt with 0.6 seconds left, and made all three free throws to give the Cavaliers an improbable 63-62 win. 

MORE NCAA TOURNAMENT NEWS:

Kyle Guy's free throws send Virginia to first-ever NCAA Tournament final

kyle-guy-guarded-auburn-uva-final-four-usat.jpg
USA Today Sports Images

Kyle Guy's free throws send Virginia to first-ever NCAA Tournament final

And that's why it's called March Madness.

Virginia trailed Auburn 62-60 in the final seconds of their Final Four matchup Saturday. But as UVA guard Kyle Guy caught the ball and put up a last-second three, he was fouled by Auburn's Samir Doughty. 

Guy stepped to the line and cooly sunk all three free throws, giving UVA the 63-62 lead. The Tigers' desperate attempt to hit a buzzer-beater failed, and the Cavaliers celebrated reaching their first-ever NCAA Tournament final. 

“I could lie to you and say I knew I was going to hit them, but I was terrified," Guy told CBS' Tracy Wolfson after the game. "I had confidence in myself, but this is what we dream of. And for me to be able to do this for our team, I couldn't be happier."

To quote Bill Raftery: "Onions!"

MORE NCAA TOURNAMENT NEWS:

Updated: UVA says Kyle Guy can re-post his wedding registry

Updated: UVA says Kyle Guy can re-post his wedding registry

UPDATE: UVA star Kyle Guy can post wedding registry online after initially being told otherwise. 

University of Virginia Athletic Director Carla Williams spoke to reporters Friday and assured that the situation that picked up steam revolving around star swingman Kyle Guy and his wedding registry being an NCAA violation was just a misunderstanding.

Guy and his fiancee Alexis Jenkins are free to proceed as they were. 

Communication is a beautiful thing, especially in the world of intercollegiate athletics. 

 

ORIGINAL STORY

 

Going on a run to the Final Four will give student athletes several perks and added benefits. But it also can come with some restrictions on gifts ... and confusing rules about restrictions on gifts. Like, for a wedding registry.

University of Virginia's Kyle Guy is the lucky (or unlucky) man in this scenario. Guy is engaged to long-time girlfriend Alexa Jenkins and the two are planning on tying the knot this summer. For their upcoming wedding, like most couples, they set up a registry for gifts to celebrate the occassion.

Oh wait. Gifts? NCAA athletes? That cannot happen. Guy told reporters he had stopped the gift registry from happening as soon as fans started buying them gifts.

In the video, the Cavaliers' guard said right now he is focusing on the Final Four and winning a national championship. Afterwards he'll re-visit the situation with the registry.

But on Thursday, after the video went viral, NCAA president Mark Emmert said the NCAA had never tried to rain on anyone's wedding day.

"Nobody in the NCAA said anything of the sort," Emmert told reporters. "We don't know what the source of that information was, whether it came from the institution or not. It's certainly not the case that that's a violation of NCAA rules. We allow people to have all the usual and accustomed gifts among families and friends at all holidays and weddings of the sort."

"We've been reaching back out already to the university to try to find out what transpired there. That's simply an inaccurate story."

According to Michael Phillips of the Richmond Times-Dispatch, it was UVA, not the NCAA, that requested the website Busted Coverage to remove a post on its website about the wedding registry.

Guy, a junior, will have one year of eligibility remaining after this season.

He is the leading scorer for Virginia as they play the Auburn Tigers for a spot in the national championship on Saturday.

MORE NCAA NEWS: