Capitals

Quick Links

Mr. Game 5: Justin Williams delivers in the clutch for OT win

Mr. Game 5: Justin Williams delivers in the clutch for OT win

Justin WIlliams knows a thing or two about clutch playoff goals.

The former Stanley Cup Finals MVP is known by many as "Mr. Game 7."

But on Friday night, Williams was "Mr. Game 5," as he buried the puck past Frederik Andersen to give the Caps a 2-1 win in Game 5.

Williams was in the right place and got a picture-perfect feed from Marcus Johansson.

Williams did what he is know to do, score clutch playoff goals. This was the seventh playoff game-winning goal of his career. To go a step further, Williams is just a game-winning goal in a Game 3 of a playoff series away from having scored a game-winning goal in games 1 through 7.

The Capitals now head back to Toronto on Sunday for a chance to end the series in Game 6.

Quick Links

Referees miss blatant boarding by Paquette on Orpik

usatsi_10849897.jpg
USA TODAY Sports

Referees miss blatant boarding by Paquette on Orpik

A rough hit to the back of Brooks Orpik left him down on the ice and slow to get up. Cedric Paquette skated back to his bench and waited for the trainer to attend to Orpik and (probably) for the referees to call his number and send him to the box.

The penalty, however, never came.

You always hear in hockey that if you can see a player's numbers, you should pull up on the hit.

What that refers to is the numbers on the back of a player's jersey. You are not allowed to hit a player directly in the back into the boards.

The official definition of boarding according to the NHL rule book is, "any player who checks or pushes a defenseless opponent in such a manner that causes the opponent to hit or impact the boards violently or dangerously." Hitting a player "in the numbers" is a defenseless position.

Apparently Cedric Paquette didn't know that and, unfortunately for the Capitals, neither did the referees.

Someone explain to me how this is not a boarding penalty:

Sometimes referees are put in a tough position because a player turns his back right before they take the hit, thus putting themselves in a vulnerable position to draw a penalty. That was not the case here. Orpik never turned.

When Tom Wilson hit Pittsburgh Penguins forward Zach Aston-Reese in the second period, the hockey world spent the next day debating whether it was an illegal hit. There is no debate here, no grey area. Just a clear board.

And no call.

You can understand referees wanting to put away the whistles for a Game 7, but you have to call the blatant dangerous plays like this. This was a bad miss by the referees, plain and simple.

MORE CAPITALS STORIES

Quick Links

Tom Wilson is single-handedly trying to fight every player on the Lightning in Game 7

Tom Wilson is single-handedly trying to fight every player on the Lightning in Game 7

TOM WILSON IS ALL JACKED UP ON MOUNTAIN DEW. 

17 minutes into Game 7 and Tom Wilson is already out here doing Tom Wilson things. 

First, there were these shenanigans:

Pretty standard stuff. Some anger words, some glove pulling. Nothing special. Then, friends - then it gets real:

Let this marinate a little bit. Wilson got a minor for fighting, served his time, and then IMMEDIATELY came out of the box and did literally the exact same thing. 

He punched a guys helmet off. Those helmets have straps to stay on for this exact reason, and it didn't matter. If this was medieval jousting, Braydon Coburn would be declared the loser on the spot. 

Get you a friend like Tom Wilson. 

MORE CAPITALS STORIES