Former Redskins OT Joe Jacoby misses out on Hall of Fame again


There is only one Hog in the Pro Football Hall of Fame and it will remain that way for at least another year.

Joe Jacoby, who owns three Super Bowl rings from the glory days of the Redskins in the 1980’s and early 1990, was a finalist for enshrinement in the Hall but according to a report he did not get enough votes to get in. A panel of 46 media members debated and voted today in San Francisco. Jacoby needed 80 percent of the vote to get in.

CSN's Chick Hernandez reported that Jacoby has missed out, citing sources in Jacoby's camp.

Jacoby came to the Redskins in 1981 as an undrafted free agent. Jacoby and Russ Grimm formed the left side of the offensive line that came to be known as The Hogs. They paved the way for John Riggins and kept Joe Theismann upright during their run to the Super Bowl XVII title following the 1982 season.

Some Hogs got injured, other Hogs moved on but Jacoby was the steady presence for all three Super Bowl titles. He started at left tackle in Super Bowl XXII after the 1987 season and at right tackle in Super Bowl XXVI after the 1991 season. Along the way he made four Pro Bowls and was named first-team All-Pro twice.

Grimm remains the only Hog on the Hall of Fame; he was enshrined in 2010. 

Related: Redskins long snapper Nick Sundberg wouldn't want Tony Romo as his holder