Wizards

VIDEO: Jason Smith has shot taken away long after the fact

Wizards

The shot should not have counted and nobody is arguing otherwise. But the time that lapsed between Jason Smith's hookshot and the referee's decision to take it away was quite unusual in Friday night's game between the Wizards and Spurs.

Smith sank a turnaround hookshot with 3:45 remaining in the third quarter. By the end of the frame, the Wizards were down 80-76. 

But by the start of the fourth quarter, the refs had taken a second look and decided Smith's release occurred after the shot clock expired. So, the Wizards then began the fourth quarter down 80-74.

Watch the shot here and listen to the reaction of CSN commentators Steve Buckhantz and Phil Chenier:

Rules are rules, of course. But the decision was a bit surprising, given the timing.

[RELATED: No timetable for Ian Mahinmi return]