Heat first to win playoff game on time-expired FT since 1979 Bullets


Jimmy Butler secured the Miami Heat a 2-0 series lead over the Milwaukee Bucks on Wednesday by hitting a game-winning free throw with no time remaining on the clock.

It was the first time a team won on a free throw with the clock at zero since Rolando Blackman did it for the Dallas Mavericks on March 4, 1991. The last time it had been done in the playoffs is when Kyle Wright hit two to help the Washington Bullets beat the Seattle SuperSonics in Game 1 of the 1979 NBA Finals.

Following his 40-point outburst in Game 1 of the second-round series, Butler finished with a pedestrian 13 points on 3-of-8 shooting. But he came through when Miami needed him most, drawing a foul on the Defensive Player of the Year, Giannis Antetokounmpo, on a jumper as time expired with the score tied at 114 and making both free throws to win it.

The odd circumstances capped an odd sequence in which the Bucks closed a six-point deficit in the final 15 seconds.

Miami is now two wins away from its first appearance in the Eastern Conference Finals since it reached the round with LeBron James in 2014.

Download MyTeams Today!