Game 3 between the Sharks and Blues had its fair share of interesting moments. But the play that set up Erik Karlsson's game-winning goal in overtime is one that will likely be talked about even after the Western Conference final has concluded.
With traffic over to the left of St. Louis' net, Timo Meier fell to the ice and then appeared to bat the puck out of the air with his glove. Gustav Nyquist got possession of the puck and set up his fellow Swede Karlsson to beat Jordan Binnington and give San Jose a 5-4 victory.
As the Sharks began to skate off the ice, the Blues stuck around, wondering if the play would be reviewed since Meier's hand appeared to touch the puck.
If anyone was looking for the hand pass rule and hadn't found it yet... pic.twitter.com/dSJ8X2QWhy— Chelena Goldman (@ChelenaGoldman) May 16, 2019
However, the nature of the play made it nonreviewable, so St. Louis skaters were urged to exit the ice. Suffice to say, the team and its higher ups were not thrilled with how the game ended.
#stlblues GM Doug Armstrong just slammed his hand on the officials door. Very upset, yelled "(expletive) garbage."— Lou Korac (@lkorac10) May 16, 2019
Not surprisingly, that play was one of the first thing the players on both teams were asked about when players met with the media following the game.
"We're going to go there, eh?" Blues forward David Perron told reporters in St. Louis with a shrug. "Well, it was a hand pass. But we're going to try and move forward and the league's going to take care of it like they've done in the past."
Blues head coach Craig Berube was less forthcoming with what he saw on the play, telling the press he hadn't received any kind of explanation from the league and didn't want to be asked about it.
"No reason to ask me," Berube said. "Nothing. Nothing to say about it."
Sharks head coach Peter DeBoer had a bit more to say on the play, though not much.
"Quick play, I'm not going to comment on the officiating," San Jose's bench boss said. "It was a game of momentum swings and those quick little plays happened all over the ice. Some of them get called, some get missed."
The Sharks themselves weren't particularly happy with every call that took place in Wednesday's game either. Joe Thornton was particularly perturbed when the officials missed calling Perron for delay of game in the second stanza, and Perron then turned around and scored a goal.
[RELATED: Watch Couture tie Game 3 late]
"I didn't see the review, but from my point of view it went straight out," Thornton said about the noncall. "But, you know, the refs have a tough job and they only see it for a split second. But I thought it was out, they didn't see it that way, and it kind of changed the momentum of the game."
Regardless of that shift in momentum, the Sharks found a way to take Game 3 -- whether or not their critics believe they deserve it.