Alex Rodriguez is paid to share his opinions about baseball. But sometimes those opinions clash with his own history.

A thrilling Game 6 of the World Series on Tuesday night was interrupted by controversy in the seventh inning, when Washington Nationals baserunner Trea Turner was called out for interfering with Houston Astros first baseman Yuli Gurriel.

Here's the play in question: Turner appeared to run in a straight line after hitting a weak ground ball but inadvertently knocked Gurriel's glove off his hand.

Umpire Sam Holbrook ruled that Turner interfered with the throw by running on the left side of the foul line in "unprotected" territory. But Rodriguez's (among others) clearly disagreed, and voiced his opinion on Twitter as Holbrook's crew discussed the call.

Where's the humor in this tweet? Surely you remember Game 6 of the 2004 American League Championship Series between Rodriguez's New York Yankees and the rival Boston Red Sox, when A-Rod literally slapped the ball out of pitcher Bronson Arroyo's glove while running to first base.

Veteran pitcher (and former Yankee) Phil Hughes sure does.

Hughes was one of many on Twitter to remind A-Rod of his own history with baserunner's interference.

The umpires upheld the call and ruled Turner out, prompting the expected angry tweet from Rodriguez.

By the letter of the MLB Rulebook, the umps technically got the call right, as a baserunner who runs on the left side of the foul line in fair play can be deemed as interfering.

 

You could argue that's a dumb rule, but Anthony Rendon made sure it didn't matter anyway, blasting a two-run home run later in the inning to help the Nationals win 7-2 and force a Game 7 on Wednesday night.

If only Rodriguez could say the same about his 2004 Yankees...

Click here to download the new MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Celtics easily on your device.