Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Motorsports Hall of Fame of America adds Ganassi, Childress, 5 others

motorsports hall of fame of america logo

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America on Friday announced its 2016 Class of inductees, which will be enshrined on June 29 at Daytona International Speedway.

This year’s class features Chip Ganassi (IndyCar/NASCAR), Richard Childress (NASCAR), Sam Posey (sports cars and writing/broadcasting), Bob Sweikert (historic/sprint car), Dave McClelland (NHRA/announcer), Gary Gabelich (driver of the famous Blue Flame), and Everett Brashear (motorcycle racing).

“It’s obviously the highest honor anyone can ever achieve,” Ganassi said Friday. “I’m actually speechless. First of all, I’m really glad the Hall of Fame has moved to Daytona. Obviously, we’ve had a lot of success here in our team’s career, and to have the Hall of Fame here is a big shot in the arm. It says a lot about the Hall of Fame, says a lot about Daytona, and says a lot about motorsports.

“Everybody that’s ever participated in any win within our organization should be up here with me. They should all be nominated. I don’t change the tires or change the engines or do the hard work.. That’s what this nomination is all about, those people in the trenches. We had people this year working on Christmas Day getting ready for this race (Rolex 24) this weekend. Those people are Hall of Fame nominees as well.

“I’m honored to be here, I look forward to the ceremony in June and I have to say I’m as humbled as I’ve ever been in my entire life.”

Childress echoed Ganassi’s comments in a team media release.

“This is a special honor to be recognized by the Motorsports Hall of Fame,” Childress said. “To be part of the first class inducted at the newly renovated Daytona International Speedway will be unique and the racers enshrined in this hall of fame are from across the entire motorsports world.”

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America is currently in transition, moving from its longtime base first in Novi, Michigan, and most recently, nearby Detroit, to Daytona International Speedway.

MORE: Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Reveals Finalists for 2016 Class

Contributing: Tony DiZinno

Follow @JerryBonkowski