Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Jacobs, Crocker receive 2015 Lester Patrick Trophy

NHL Announces the Start of the 2013 Season

NHL Announces the Start of the 2013 Season

Getty Images

From the NHL:

Boston Bruins owner Jeremy Jacobs and longtime scout Bob Crocker have been named recipients of the 2015 Lester Patrick Trophy for outstanding service to hockey in the United States.

The award, one of the most prestigious in hockey, was presented to the National Hockey League by the New York Rangers in 1966. It honors the memory of Lester Patrick, who spent 50 years in hockey as a player, coach and general manager and was a pioneer in the sport’s development.

“By honoring Jeremy Jacobs and Bob Crocker, the Lester Patrick Award selection committee has recognized the dedication and drive of two important contributors to hockey in the United States,” NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman said. “Jeremy Jacobs -- as owner for 41 years of the NHL’s first U.S.-based team and long-serving Chairman of our Board of Governors -- has provided unparalleled vision, innovation and inspiration to the advancement of hockey and the NHL. As a coach, a scout and a hockey executive, Bob Crocker has devoted decades to the development of young American players. Congratulations to both on this long overdue recognition.”

Past recipients of the Lester Patrick Trophy include Mike Richter, Mark Messier, Phil Housley, Wayne Gretzky, Gordie Howe and Herb Brooks. Click here for the full list.

Related: Daly, Holmgren honored with Lester Patrick Trophy