Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Video: Shaw’s head-butt goal disallowed

Chicago Blackhawks v New York Islanders

UNIONDALE, NY - JANUARY 02: Andrew Shaw #65 of the Chicago Blackhawks skates against the New York Islanders at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum on January 2, 2013 in Uniondale, New York. The Islanders defeated the Blackhawks 3-2 in overtime. (Photo by Mike Stobe/NHLI via Getty Images)

NHLI via Getty Images

Talk about using your head.

Andrew Shaw and the Chicago Blackhawks thought they had the winning goal in double overtime of Game 2, however it was disallowed upon further review. Shaw, in front of the Anaheim net, directed the puck into the net with his head.

Would’ve been a great goal off a corner kick in soccer, though.

From the NHL:

At 8:47 of double overtime in the Chicago Blackhawks/Anaheim Ducks game, video review supported the referee’s call on the ice that Andrew Shaw deliberately headbutted the puck into the Anaheim net. According to Rule 78.5 (i) “Apparent goals shall be disallowed when the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.” No goal Chicago.

Follow @CamTucker_Metro