Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Welcome to the club, Nick Dunlap: Amateurs who have won on the PGA Tour

Nick Dunlap became the first amateur since Phil Mickelson in 1991 to win on the PGA Tour.

The 20-year-old Alabama sophomore becomes the eighth different player since 1940 to accomplish that feat, with one player doing it twice.

Here’s a look at who they are and where they prevailed:

  • Cary Middlecoff: 1945 North and South Open
  • Fred Haas: 1945 Memphis Invitational
  • Frank Stranahan: 1945 Durham War Bond Tournament
  • Frank Stranahan: 1948 Miami Open
  • Gene Littler: 1954 San Diego Open
  • Doug Sanders: 1956 Canadian Open
  • Scott Verplank: 1985 Western Open
  • Phil Mickelson: 1991 Northern Telecom Open
  • Nick Dunlap: 2024 The American Express