Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

JD Motorsports announces lineup for Xfinity Series

NASCAR XFINITY Series VFW Sport Clips Help A Hero 200 - Practice

DARLINGTON, SC - SEPTEMBER 04: Ross Chastain, driver of the #4 South Carolina Education Lottery Chevrolet, practices for the NASCAR XFINITY Series VFW Sport Clips Help A Hero 200 at Darlington Raceway on September 4, 2015 in Darlington, South Carolina. (Photo by Jonathan Moore/Getty Images)

Getty Images

JD Motorsports with Gary Keller announced Monday night that its three-car team will feature drivers Ross Chastain and Ryan Preece.

Preece will drive the No. 01 Chevrolet with Zach McGowan as crew chief. Chastain returns to drive the No. 4 car with backing from the watermelon industry. Brian Berry will be the crew chief.

Eric McClure joins the team to drive the No. 0 car for the Feb. 20 season opener at Daytona International Speedway. He’ll have Todd Myers as his crew chief with sponsorship from Reynolds Wrap. The team plans to field the No. 0 car all season and is pursuing driver/sponsor partnerships.

JD Motorsports also stated that Gary Cogswell will serve as a co-crew chief and key mechanic across all three teams.

“Everything is lining up well,” team owner Johnny Davis said in a team release. “We expect to have three strong teams when we get things started next month in Daytona. We should be astronomically better than last year. We’re better prepared, and we have more resources.”

Chastain finished 15th in points last season and scored four top-10 finishes for the team. His best finish was a ninth in the season-opening race at Daytona. Preece, who won a modified title in 2013, ran five Sprint Cup races last year.

Follow @dustinlong